Nordic Hair Awards and Expo 2019

Nordic Hair Awards and Expo 2019
June 13, 2019 Patricia E

Nordic Hair Awards and Expo 2019

On 9th June 2019 the very first Nordic Hair Awards and Expo opened the doors to a world full of professional hairdressing experiences. Over 2.000 Nordic hairdressers, suppliers and hair artists networked, connected and inspired each other during an entire day at Lokomotivværkstedet in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The schedule for the day was fully packed with 11 hair shows on Main Stage, 4 intimate shows on Live Stage, several mini shows all around the venue and last but not least, a spectacular award show.

World-class shows

On Main Stage many teams showed the best of what the Nordics has to offer. Amongst them were HeadBrands who raised the roof with powerful colours and music, L’Oréal Professionnel x Björn Axén impressed with long hair up does signed Peter Hägelstam, and Aveda, led by Ian Michael Black, explored youthful expressions with their collection Worldhood.

The Live Stage offered a more intimate, exclusive setting where hairdressers could enjoy shows by REVLON Professional, Alterna & American Crew; KEVIN.MURPHY Global Team featuring Marianne Jensen, James Nicholson, Iggy Popovich and Paz Bamrolia; Schwarzkopf Professional Creative Nordic Team featuring Lesley Jennison; and a Barber Surprise with Adee Phelan, Jac Ludlow, Luke Thompson and Fraser Forsey.

Nordic Hair Expo

More than 90 suppliers from the Nordic hairdressing industry presented the latest products and techniques. The beautiful stands created a welcoming atmosphere that opened for conversations about the current trends, new collaborations and innovations. One of the most spectacular areas was the one where the main sponsor, Cutrin, had created an exclusive pool area with hair models serving Finnish liquorice.


Barbers, barbers, barbers

The Barber Area gathered both barbers and beard enthusiasts under their common interest; making men look their best. One of the big attractions was Copenhagen Barber Battle where some of the top barbers from Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland battled against each other. The lucky winner was Amin Iranmanesh from Sweden!


So much talent in one place

During the day the 32 finalists in the live categories Nordic Women’s Hairdresser of the Year, Nordic Men’s Hairdresser of the Year, Nordic Avant-garde Hairdresser of the Year and Nordic Colour Technician of the Year showcased their work in front of the audience and the jury. The finalist pictures in the photo categories Nordic Editorial Stylist of the Year, Nordic Young Talent of the Year, Nordic Salon Design of the Year and Icelandic Hairdresser of the Year could be admired in the Boiler Room.

Nordic Hairdresser of the Year 2019

As the bright Nordic dusk set over Copenhagen, the award show took off with a bang! Copenhagen Drummers gathered all the festive hairdressers and industry professionals by the Main Stage. The pounding beats warmed up the audience before the host of the evening, Benjamin Martin, entered the stage in a king cape and jeans á la Freddie Mercury.

At the award show, all the winners were announced, mixed with spectacular shows from Linda Schuster & Joakim Roos, Creademic and the main sponsor of the event, Cutrin. The final award, Nordic Hairdresser of the Year, was presented at the end of the show and the worthy winner was Harri Åkerberg from A.K.A. Luova, Finland. The jury’s motivation for the award was “A look with multiple dimensions and disco feeling. The winner of Nordic Hairdresser of the Year inspired with an awesome, surprising creation with brilliant composition that really explores the limits of hair art, taking it to the next level”.

The rising star Alexander Oscar created a soulful atmosphere in the venue before DJ Jean von Baden opened the dancefloor and kept it pumping until early morning.

We are very grateful for everyone who made this event possible! Thank you for joining us and helping us make this day into a memorable and inspiring day for the Nordic hairdressing industry.

Text: Camilla Svensson

Photo: Kai Sairanen, Peter Bondo Gravesen, Claus Peuckert and Carl D. Marchall